Connection lost. Please refresh the page.
EN | DE | PT | ES Get help How to study Login Register

Lumbar plexus

Learning objectives

This study unit will help you to:

  1. Identify the spinal nerve levels from which the lumbar plexus arises.
  2. Name the terminal branches of the lumbar plexus and their supply areas.

Watch videos

The lumbar plexus is a collection of spinal nerves located deep in the lumbopelvic region, close to the psoas major muscle. Formed from the anterior rami of spinal nerves L1–L4, this nerve network provides innervation to the muscles, joints and skin of the anterolateral aspects of the pelvis and thigh.

The lumbar plexus has 6 major terminal branches. According to their anatomical position, the branches can be grouped into anterior or posterior divisions: with the anterior part providing innervation to the pelvis and the posterior part supplying branches to the thigh. Fibres from spinal nerve L4 join with fibres from L5 to form the lumbosacral trunk. This large nerve links the lumbar plexus with the sacral plexus, thus these nerve complexes are often given the combined name of lumbosacral plexus. Together these two plexuses supply all innervation to the pelvis and lower limb.

This video tutorial will provide you with an overview of the lumbar plexus.

Take a quiz

Test your lumbar plexus knowledge by taking our quiz.

Browse atlas


Key facts about the lumbar plexus
Roots L1, L2, L3, L4
Structural organization Branches from spinal nerve L1
Branches from anterior division of spinal nerves L2-L4
Branches from posterior division of spinal nerves L2-L4
Terminal branches Iliohypogastric nerve, ilioinguinal nerve, genitofemoral nerve, obturator nerve, lateral femoral cutaneous nerve and femoral nerve.
Function Sensory and motor innervation of the lower abdomen, pelvis, anterolateral hip and thigh regions

Well done!

Related articles

Continue your learning

Register now and grab your free ultimate anatomy study guide!