German Contact How to study Login Register

Register now and grab your free ultimate anatomy study guide!

Sidebar ebook trimmed

Vestibulocochlear Nerve



The Vestibulocochlear Nerve is the eighth of the Twelve Cranial Nerves. The fibers consist of only Afferent Sensory Fibers. The word Afferent means toward the centre, as in from a peripheral area of a limb to the central nervous system. The word Efferent is the opposite of Afferent, meaning away from the centre and toward the periphery; when the stimulus is carried back to the brain from a peripheral area.

Recommended video: Musculocutaneous nerve
Anatomy and supply of the musculocutaneous nerve.

Vestibulocochlear nerve (green) - basal view of brain


The pathway for the afferent fibers of the Vestibulocochlear Nerve before and after its division is the following (from the Initiation in the Periphery to the Termination in the brain):

  • The vestibule is filled with endolymphatic fluid and is responsible for the somatic balance of the Human Body. It is also innervated by small sensory branches that innervate the parts of the vestibule which include the saccule, the utricle, the anterior, posterior and lateral membrane of the ampulla.
  • Those small branches merge into superior and inferior branches, before entering the vestibular ganglion.
  • The cochlea is responsible for sensory hearing and is innervated by a small branch of postganglionic fibers, which exit the lamina spiralis ossea after innervating the inner and outer hair cells of the spiral organ of corti; upon the hair cells sits the tectorial membrane.
  • The cochlear nerve synapses in the cochlea upon the spiral ganglia before running alone and eventually running adjacent to the motor root of the facial nerve, the intermediate nerve and the vestibular nerve.
  • For a brief section, the vestibular nerve also runs as a single branch, known as the vestibulocochlear nerve, before it enters the skull accompanied by the facial nerve and the intermediate nerve (CN VII) and merges into one branch - the vestibulocochlear nerve.
  • The sensory fibers of both sets of nuclei cross over one another as they exit their contralateral corresponding nerves before bundling together.
  • Lateral to the inferior cerebellar peduncle, at the same level of the vestibular nuclei, sit the anterior and posterior cochlear nuclei.
  • The vestibular nuclei are four and consist of the superior, inferior, medial and lateral nuclei.
  • The vestibular nuclei are scattered in the brainstem at the level of the vestibular area and behind the medullary striae, medial to the inferior cerebellar peduncle.
Get me the rest of this article for free
Create your account and you'll be able to see the rest of this article, plus videos and a quiz to help you memorize the information, all for free. You'll also get access to articles, videos, and quizzes about dozens of other anatomy systems.
Create your free account ➞
Show references


  • Frank H. Netter, Atlas der Anatomie, 5th Edition (Bilingual Edition: English and German), Saunders, Chapter 1, Plate 96, 114-115 and 123, published 2010.


  • Dr. Alexandra Sierosławska


  • Vestibulocochlear nerve (green) - basal view of brain - Paul Kim
© Unless stated otherwise, all content, including illustrations are exclusive property of Kenhub GmbH, and are protected by German and international copyright laws. All rights reserved.

Continue your learning

Article (You are here)
Other articles
Well done!

Register now and grab your free ultimate anatomy study guide!

Sidebar ebook trimmed
Create your free account.
Start learning anatomy in less than 60 seconds.