German Contact How to study Login Register

Register now and grab your free ultimate anatomy study guide!

Sidebar ebook trimmed

The Visual Pathway

The visual pathway is known as the pathway of the optic nerve, which is the second of the twelve cranial nerves. It consists of both afferent and efferent visual sensory fibers.

The ability to understand the layout of the visual pathway and to recall where its fibers have been damaged by analysing an ophthalmological test or a patient’s description of their visual field is of paramount importance.


Recommended video: Optic nerve
Optic nerve and visual pathway.

It is suggested that a sound level of atlas knowledge in the areas of the brain, the eye and especially the optic tract should be accomplished before reading this article for maximum comprehension, if nothing else.

Optic tract - cranial view

Optic tract - cranial view

Clinical Aspects

In this instance, the visual field and correlating nerve damage possibilities will be listed here in an afferent order (from the periphery or the eye to the terminal synapse or the visual cortex):

  • There is a left and right visual field in each eye. If all four visual fields are clear, then there is no visual pathway damage.
  • Damage to the optic nerve would cause sight loss in one eye in both visual fields.
  • Damage to one of the fibre bundles in the optic nerve (either the one that stays unilateral through the visual pathway or the one that crosses contra laterally at the optic chiasm); the corresponding visual field that that fibre bundle supplied would be lost.
  • Damage at the optic chiasm would cause the lateral visual fields of both eyes to be lost.
  • Damage at the sight of the optic tract would cause medial visual field loss in the eye on the same side and lateral sight loss in the eye on the opposite side.
  • If there is damage done to the optic radiation, the result is the same as the damage done to the optic tract.

The site of damage determines the visual field loss due to the fibers that are included in that area and where the terminally synapse. The damage has the same outcome for both afferent and efferent fibres.

Get me the rest of this article for free
Create your account and you'll be able to see the rest of this article, plus videos and a quiz to help you memorize the information, all for free. You'll also get access to articles, videos, and quizzes about dozens of other anatomy systems.
Create your free account ➞
Show references


  • Frank H. Netter, Atlas der Anatomie, 5th Edition (Bilingual Edition: English and German), Saunders, Kapitel 1, Tafel 119.
  • Eric Chudler, Ph.D., Centre for Sensorimotor Neural Engineering in Seattle, Washington, Neuroscience for Kids, link.


  • Dr. Alexandra Sierosławska


  • Optic tract - cranial view - Paul Kim
© Unless stated otherwise, all content, including illustrations are exclusive property of Kenhub GmbH, and are protected by German and international copyright laws. All rights reserved.

Related Atlas Images

Optic nerve


12 cranial nerves

Continue your learning

Article (You are here)
Other articles
Look up structures in the atlas
Well done!

Register now and grab your free ultimate anatomy study guide!

Sidebar ebook trimmed
Create your free account.
Start learning anatomy in less than 60 seconds.