Connection lost. Please refresh the page.
Get help How to study Login Register
Ready to learn?
Pick your favorite study tool

Nerves of the orbit

Recommended video: Nerves of the orbit [18:28]
Nerves found on the region of the orbit.

The nerves of the orbit aid in the various functions and movements of the eye, opening and closure of the eyelids, and allow for vision. This article will provide the details about the important nerves found in the orbit, namely the:

  • Optic nerve
  • Oculomotor nerve
  • Trochlear nerve
  • Abducens nerve
  • Opthalmic nerve
  1. Optic nerve
  2. Oculomotor nerve
  3. Trochlear nerve
  4. Abducens nerve
  5. Ophthalmic nerve
  6. Clinical notes
    1. Clinical eye exam
    2. Optic nerve damage
    3. Glaucoma
  7. Sources
+ Show all

Optic nerve

Multiple cranial nerves control the muscles of the orbit, and nerves of the oculus and extraocular region.

The optic nerve (CN II) is a paired nerve that transmits visual information from the retina to the brain, and is considered to be part of the central nervous system. The nerve is furthermore sheathed in all three meningeal layers (dura, arachnoid, and pia mater), and is composed of retinal ganglion cell axons and glial cells.

The optic nerve leaves the orbit via the optic canal, which runs postero-medially towards the optic chiasm, where there is a partial decussation (crossing) of fibers from the temporal visual fields (the nasal hemi-retina) of both eyes. The optic nerve functions to transmit sensory information to the brain for further processing. This sensory information consists of:

  • Brightness perception
  • Red-green color perception
  • Contrast (visual acuity)
  • Visual fields

To note, the blind spot of the eye is a result of the absence of photoreceptors in the area of the retina where the optic nerve leaves the eye.

Optic nerve labeled in a cadaver.

Oculomotor nerve

The oculomotor nerve (CN III) controls the following muscles:

Trochlear nerve

The trochlear nerve (CN IV) controls the superior oblique muscle, which is responsible for intorsion, depression and abduction of the eye.

Abducens nerve

The abducens nerve (CN VI) controls the lateral rectus muscle, which is responsible for abduction of the eye, and the retractor bulbi muscle.

Ophthalmic nerve

The ophthalmic nerve (CN V1) is one of the three branches of the trigeminal nerve, the fifth cranial nerve. It has multiple branches, such as the:

  • Nasociliary nerve (including the sensory root of ciliary ganglion, posterior ethmoidal nerve, long ciliary nerve, infratrochlear nerve, and anterior ethmoidal nerve) - After giving off several sensory branches to the orbit, this branch continues out through the anterior ethmoidal foramen, where it enters the nasal cavity and provides innervation for much of the anterior nasal mucosa. It also gives off a branch that exits through the nasal bones to form the external nasal branch.
  • Lacrimal nerve - It passes through the orbit superiorly to innervate the lacrimal gland.
  • Frontal nerve (including the supratrochlear nerve and supraorbital nerve) - This nerve passes through the orbit superiorly, then re-enters the frontal bone prior to exiting above the orbit through the supraorbital foramen and the supratrochlear notch to provide sensory innervation for the skin of the forehead and scalp.

The ophthalmic nerve carries only sensory fibers from the eyes, conjunctiva, and lacrimal gland. It receives sensory branches from the:

It supplies branches to the:

  • Cornea 
  • Ciliary body
  • Iris
  • Lacrimal gland
  • Conjunctiva
  • Part of the mucous membrane of the nasal cavity
  • Skin of the eyelids, eyebrow, forehead and nose

The ophthalmic nerve is joined by filaments from the cavernous plexus of the sympathetic, and communicates with the oculomotor (CN III), trochlear (CN IV), and abducens (CN VI) nerves. It also gives off a recurrent (meningeal) filament, which passes between the layers of the tentorium.

Nerves of the orbit: want to learn more about it?

Our engaging videos, interactive quizzes, in-depth articles and HD atlas are here to get you top results faster.

What do you prefer to learn with?

“I would honestly say that Kenhub cut my study time in half.” – Read more.

Kim Bengochea Kim Bengochea, Regis University, Denver
© Unless stated otherwise, all content, including illustrations are exclusive property of Kenhub GmbH, and are protected by German and international copyright laws. All rights reserved.

Register now and grab your free ultimate anatomy study guide!